Incoming students outside Erasmus+

Student mobility outside the Erasmus program can be implemented through SAIA programs, other grant programs (eg Fulbright scholarships) or through inter-university cooperation.

SAIA Programs:

1/ CEEPUS, Intergovernmental Agreement.
2/ Austria - Slovakia Action
3/ National Scholarship Program

Inter-University Collaboration: UCM has cooperation agreements (list here: with many foreign universities and partner institutions. Student exchanges or. UCM employees on the basis of inter-university cooperation are coordinated by individual faculties and department. The student can also finance such a stay by applying for a grant eg. from a National Scholarship Program or a grant under an intergovernmental agreement.

In these types of mobility, the student handles the administrative part of the mobility independently, coordinates the steps and the selection of the subjects studied with the authorized employee of his / her department and consults the appropriate term of mobility.

It must also follow the instructions of the relevant grant agency.

1/ CEEPUS - Central European Exchange Program

CEEPUS promotes academic mobility in Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe, contributes to European integration and emphasizes regional specificities. The program enables the development of cooperation between Slovak and foreign universities through the creation of academic networks, in which scientific and research cooperation is carried out and the mobility of students, doctoral students and university teachers is realized. Priority is given to the development of joint study programs leading to double or joint degrees and to the joint management of dissertations and theses. It is also possible to carry out excursions and summer schools, coordination meetings and language courses under the CEEPUS program, complementing professional and scientific cooperation between partner universities.

Currently, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Montenegro, Croatia, Hungary, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Austria, Romania, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Serbia are actively participating in the program. Since the academic year 2009/2010, the University of Pristina in Kosovo has been involved in the program, and Moldova has joined the program since the 2011/2012 academic year.

The National CEEPUS Office (NCO) is established in each member country. Each country decides on the budget it allocates to the office, as well as to fund mobilities.

The office's role is:

  • to promote the program in its country in close cooperation with the central office and other national offices of the Member States,
  • accept applications,
  • to prepare meetings of the National Commission,
  • to prepare a selection procedure for network applications at national level,
  • grant scholarships,
  • ensure the admission of foreign scholars in coordination with the host universities,
  • secure scholarship payments to incoming foreign scholarships,
  • to provide a refund for the outgoing Slovak scholarship,
  • receive mobility reports - scholarship stays of Slovak scholarship holders,
  • prepare national reports,
  • ensure the evaluation of the program at national level.

In Slovakia, the National Office of CEEPUS in SAIA, n. o., program web page:


  • Faculty of Natural Sciences: CZ 212
  • Faculty of Arts: Department of Slovak Language and Literature: AT 37

2/ Action Austria – Slovakia

Action Austria - Slovakia, cooperation in science and education is a bilateral program to promote cooperation between Austria and Slovakia in the field of higher education, science and research. The event is funded equally by the Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport of the Slovak Republic and the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research of the Republic of Austria. The 10-member board is the administrative body - five members of the board are appointed by the Minister of Education, Science, Research and Sport of the Slovak Republic and five members by the Federal Minister for Education, Science and Research of the Republic of Austria.

Web page:

3/ National Scholarship Program

The creation of the National Scholarship Program for the Support of Mobility of Students, PhD Students, University Teachers, Research and Artistic Workers was approved by the Government of the Slovak Republic in 2005. The Slovak National Scholarship Program (NŠP) is funded by the Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport of the Slovak Republic.

The scholarships are intended for students, postgraduates and postdocs of Slovak universities and research organizations to cover the cost of living for study and / or research / artistic stay at a selected foreign university, respectively. research center.

Students, PhD students and postdocs who are resident in Slovakia can also apply for a travel grant to cover travel expenses (or part thereof) in connection with their planned study and / or research / artistic stay together with a scholarship under the NSS. abroad.

Web page: